Skip to main content
Banner Image
WNHS Internet |   WNHS Intranet |  HealthPoint |   WA Health Library Sites

EndNote: Getting Started

A guide to using EndNote X7 with some help for X5 & X6

How to get EndNote X7

 

The WA Health Libraries Network (WAHLiN) has purchased a WA Health licence for EndNote and EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web)!  

EndNote X7 should be available on your WNHS work computer - if not log a job with the Health Information Network.

Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote X7 to Find Full Text .

Minimum requirements for Windows are XP SP3 and Word 2007. 

Minimum requirements for Macs are OS X 10.6.x and Word 2008 (SP1).

 

 Mac users: There are known compatibility problems with Cite While You Write & Word 2016 for Macs. See these Recommendations 

EndNote X7 is compatible across platforms you can create your library on a MAC, save it as a compressed library on a USB then open it on a PC (and vice-versa).

 

See more about EndNote Compatibility - but don't download from this site.  

Download EndNote X8 on your home computer from the appropriate tab above

 

WNHS staff download of EndNote X8 @home for Windows PC 

  1. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your PC. Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  2. Check compatibility requirements
  3. Click on Windows PC Download for EndNote X8 fill-in all boxes > click Submit to begin the download.
  4. Open the zipped file > copy & paste both the .msi and license.dat files onto the desktop.
  5. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a cite-while-you-write toolbar into Word.
  6. Click on the .msi file.
  7. Follow the installation prompts using the default options UNTIL Select Install Type > choose Custom installation option.
  8. Continue accepting default options UNTIL Select Features.
  9. Click on red crosses next to Additional connections  Additional Filters   Additional Styles > select 'Entire feature will be installed on local hard drive' for each one.
  10. After this continue selecting the default options until the software install is completed. You can then delete both files from your desktop.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote X8 to Find Full Text .
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted.

WNHS staff download of EndNote X8 @home for Macs 

  1. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your Mac Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  2. Check compatibility requirements - must have Word 2011 or 2016 (version 15.21.1 or later)
  3. Click on Mac Download for EndNote X8 and complete the form to sign the licence agreement.
  4. Once you fill-in all boxes & click Submit the software will automatically begin to download creating a zipped file.
  5. Open the file. You will see a .dmg file & instruction PDF.
  6. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a Cite-While-You-Write toolbar into Word.
  7. Click on the .dmg file and a window will open with the .dmg file on one side & Applications folder on the other.
  8. Drag the .dmg to the Applications folder to install.
  9. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote X8 to Find Full Text .
  10. It is important to install updates as prompted. 
  11. Check the CWYW toolbar in Word: Go to EndNote tab in Word > Preferences > Application > make sure EndNote (not EndNote Online) is showing

Note: EndNote X8 is compatible with the latest Mac OS Sierra. EndNote X7 is not!

Loading

First Steps...

 

EndNote allows you to create many separate 'libraries'. However, it is highly recommended that you work with only one library and use the groups function to organise your references.

  • Double click on the EndNote icon (at KEMH Library go to the Start menu > Health > EndNote > EndNote Program).
  • Do not integrate with EndNote Web at this time and click Finish.
  • Click on Create a new Library.
  • A dialogue box will open with My EndNote Library.enl as the name of the new library.

                                                                                                           

  • In the top Save in box select where you wish to save your library (to your USB or the file path of your EndNote program > Examples folder if at home).
  • Type a name for your library in the File name box > click Save.
  • A new library window will appear.

Mac & EndNote X7 users: Once you click Create a new library > name your library > tick Save as Package - this will make it easier to make stable backups.

 

                           
 

  • The Preview tab on the right displays the highlighted reference formatted in the selected reference or output style.
  • The Groups pane on the left allows you to organise your references into subject groups.
  • You are now ready to add references to your personal library!

 

 

In EndNote X7 the new library will open with the preview tab on the right hand side.

 

 

To move this panel to the bottom of the window click on the Layout arrow (bottom right Windows PC, top right Mac) & select Bottom (or Bottom Split to have the Reference/Preview & PDF displayed side by side on the bottom of the window).

                                        

Loading

How can EndNote help?

     

EndNote is a bibliographic software program by Thompson Reuters that allows you to:

  • Create a database or 'library' of references.
  • Search and download references from electronic databases and library catalogues.
  • Store downloaded PDFs with their relevant references.
  • Generate bibliographies in specific styles with the click of a button.
  • Share your library or group of references with your research colleagues.

What's new in EndNote X7?

  • Brand-new library sharing with up to 14 colleagues via EndNote online
  • Background synchronization so your work is continuously saved online
  • Advanced PDF importing, file naming and organizing
  • Expanded format options, with more than 6,000 reference styles
  • Bibliography subheadings for more control and flexibility
  • New choices for organizing your research materials
  • New reference types such as interview, podcast, conference paper and press release
  • A plug-in for adding citations to Microsoft® PowerPoint® slides (Windows only)
  • EndNote X7 syncs all your citations, attachments, reference groups and annotations so you have access anywhere, anytime.

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote is the desktop version. EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) is the online version.

EndNote Online complements your EndNote desktop library by enabling you to:

  • Work collaboratively and share your EndNote Library.
  • Access your EndNote library from multiple locations without making multiple copies of your library.

Find out more about EndNote Online!

Note: You must create a new online account for EndNote X7 even if you have an existing web account with a previous version of EndNote.

Print a guide

Need Help? Got Something to Say?

Ask Us

Or phone 8 - 5, M - F: 6458 1499